Skip to content

Invited speakers


Dr. Joel Cugnoni, since 2006 is working as Associate Senior Researcher in the Laboratory of Applied Mechanics and Reliability Analysis (LMAF) at Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) in Switzerland. He received both his master diploma (Mechanical Engineering) and PhD degree from EPFL, in 2000 and 2004, respectively. Since then, he has co-supervised more than sixteen PhD theses.

In 2014 he received the JEC Composites Innovation award (category Marine for the development of the world's thinnest ply carbon prepreg) and in 2016 he was awarded as a best teacher in Mechanical Engineering at EPFL.

Dr. Cugnoni's field of expertise focuses on the mechanics of composite materials, including fiber reinforced composites, metal matrix composites and alloys, heterogeneous, multiscale structured materials among others. His main research interest aims to bridge the gaps between numerical modeling and experimental characterization techniques. Finally, the long term goal of his research is to further understand the relationship between the hierarchical structure of composite materials and their properties to highlight new ways to design the next generation of multifunctional composite materials. He has participated on over twenty projects and has published over 56 papers in international journals.

Dr. Luis Llanes is full professor in the Department of Materials Science and Metallurgical Engineering and current dean of the Barcelona-East School of Engineering (EEBE), as well as board member of the new Barcelona Research Center in Multiscale Science and Engineering, in the Technical University of Catalonia (UPC, Spain). He graduated in materials engineering from Simon Bolivar University (Venezuela) and received his PhD degree in 1992 from the University of Pennsylvania (USA). He carries out his research activities within the Structural Integrity, Micromechanics and Reliability of Engineering Materials (CIEFMA) group at UPC. His research interests include mechanical integrity and damage assessment of hardmetals, advanced ceramics and hard coatings. Dr. Llanes is co-author of more than 100 papers published in tip journals in these fields, and has been Co-Chairman of the last four International Conferences on the Science of Hard Materials (ICSHM).

Dr. Ken Mingard is Senior Research Scientist at the National Physical Laboratory (NPL) where he leads research activities on the metrology and development of scanning electron and focused ion beam microscopy techniques. Their use to analyse the microstructure and micro.-scale behaviour of hardmaterials forms a major part of his research. After completing a D. Phil. In Materials Science at the University of Oxford in 1990 he spent 15 years working in the powder metallurgy industry, ranging from powder atomization of aluminium and high speed steels to sintering of magnetic materials. Switching from application of research in industry to providing the research for industry, he joined NPL in 2005, since when he has published over 50 papers, especially on the use of Electron Backscatter Diffraction applied to hardmetals.


Dr. Jon M. Molina-Aldareguia is Senior Researcher and leader of research group in Nanomechanics and Micromechanics of Advanced Materials at IMDEA Materials Institute. He got his PhD. at Cambridge University in 2002. Before joining IMDEA Materials Institute in 2008, he was tenured researcher at CEIT and Associate Professor of Materials Science at the University of Navarre. His current research interests are focused in the mechanical testing and the study of deformation mechanisms of advanced structural materials at different length scales, from macroscopic to the micrometer- and nanometer scale. Main goal behind it is to understand deformation mechanisms and measurement of fundamental response that can later be used as input in multiscale models of material behavior. He has participated on over 20 research projects and has published more than 100 papers in international journals.

Dr. Warren C. Oliver is the President of the company Nanomechanics Inc since 2009. He got his PhD at Stanford University in the Materials Science and Engineering field in 1981. Before becoming president of Nanomechanics Inc, he worked as research scientist at the United Technologies Research Center (1982-1984) and at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory (1984-1994). He was also co-founder and president of Nano Instruments, Inc., the first company to manufacture nanoindentation systems (1983-1998) and vice president and responsible for managing Nano Instruments Innovation Center of the MTS Corporation (1998-2001). Dr. Oliver was senior scientist and responsible for advanced research and development of micromechanical testing equipment of the MTS Corporation (2001-2004), General Manager and responsible for managing Nano Instrument Innovation Center (2004-2008) and Senior Scientist and responsible for advanced product research and development as well as strategic planning in the Agilent Technologies, CA (2008-2009).

During his scientific career ha has been awarded many awards and honors, among them: 1987 Ross Coffin Purdy Award (most significant paper; award granted by the Journal of the American Ceramic Society), 1989 DOE award for the Significant Implication for Department of Energy Related Technologies in Metallurgy and Ceramics “The Development and Use of the Mechanical properties microprobe (MPM) for characterizing Energy-Related Materials”, 2000 MTS Corporation Circle of Innovators, 2001 ISI “Citation Classic” Recognition, 2003 ISI “Highly Cited Researcher” in Materials Science, 2005 Thomson-ISI Recognition “New Hot Paper”, 2010 MRS “Innovation in Materials Characterization Award (IMCA)” and in 2016 Election to the National Academy of Engineering.

Dr. Oliver’s field expertise focuses on the measurement and understanding of the response of small volumes of materials to imposed stresses or strains. His main research interest falls on the knowledge of the structure-properties relationships in order to get new advanced materials. He has published more than 130 papers in international journals.

Dr Christophe Tromas is Professor at the University of Poitiers. He got his PhD in Materials Science at the University of Poitiers in January 2000 and then moved to Spain to perform a one year post-doc in the Institute of Microelectronics of Madrid. His research interest are focused on: (1) the determination of elementary plastic deformation mechanisms by means of micro/nano-mechanical testing in metals and ceramics; and (2) the analysis of the local mechanical properties in heterogeneous materials, at submicron scale. He teaches physics at the University of Poitiers where he is in charge of the Master of Materials Science. He has published over 50 papers.

Dr. Jeffrey M. Wheeler is Senior Scientist in the Laboratory for Nanometallurgy at ETH Zürich in Switzerland. He received his disploma in Materials Science and Engineering from the Illinois Institute of Technology in Chicago in 2005. He then moved to the University of Cambridge in the UK to obtain his PhD in Materials Science and Metallurgy as a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellow. After graduation in 2009, Dr. Wheeler moved to Switzerland to join the Laboratory for Mechanics of Materials and Nanostructures at EMPA, where he pioneered the technique of in situ, high temperature nano-mechanical testing in the SEM. He joined the scientific staff at ETH Zürich in 2015, and currently leads the micro-mechanics research group within the Laboratory for Nanometallurgy. His current research focuses on small scale plasticity of materials under extreme conditions. He has participated in over twenty research projects and has published more tan 60 papers in international journals.